Tennessee Department of Human Services
Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) – institution and sponsor participation
Key facts
- Deadline
- Rolling: apply any time
- Award size
- Not stated: see the official notice
- Match ?
- Not stated: check the official notice · Work out your budget and match
- Who can apply
- Nonprofit with 501(c)(3), City or town government, County government, School district
- Where
- Anywhere in Tennessee
Before you apply: Tennessee state agencies usually require you to be registered as a supplier in the state's Edison system before they can pay a grant. Ask the program contact, and register early. Get-ready checklist
How this fits you
- Available in Tennessee
- Past Tennessee awards of the federal program behind it (all its uses): 136
Tell us who you are to see whether you're eligible.
About this grant
Official notice: https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/children/dhs-nutrition-programs/child-and-adult-care-food-program.html · Printed from grantme.click/grants/9c8f22aa-0f23-4a6d-b73f-0c4f89753b20
Who in Tennessee has won the federal program behind it
This grant is paid from federal program 10.558, which also pays for other work. These groups won that program, not necessarily this grant.
9 awards to Tennessee groups in 7 counties since 2022. Largest shown:
| Past winner | Where | Amount | Fiscal year |
|---|---|---|---|
| State of Tennessee | Nashville | $76.1M spent that year | 2025 |
| Our Daily Bread of Tennessee, Inc. | Knoxville, Knox County | $16.5M spent that year | 2024 |
| Shelby County Board of Education | Memphis, Shelby County | $1.7M spent that year | 2024 |
| Lbj & C Development Corp | Cookeville, Putnam County | $871K spent that year | 2026 |
| Chambliss Center for Children | Chattanooga, Hamilton County | $369K spent that year | 2025 |
| Southern Avenue Charter Elementary School of Academic Excellence and Creative Arts | Memphis, Shelby County | $119K spent that year | 2023 |
| Community Action Services of Morgan County | Wartburg, Morgan County | $89K spent that year | 2025 |
| Robertson County School Nutrition | Springfield, Robertson County | $27K spent that year | 2025 |
| Martha O'bryan Center, Inc. | Nashville, Davidson County | $13K spent that year | 2024 |
Source: Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Past awards show who this program funds. They don't guarantee future awards.
Tennessee groups that got this money through a state agency or another organization
This federal money also reaches local groups as pass-through grants. In Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Human Services and Tennessee Department of Agriculture and Tennessee Department of Education pass it on: watch those agencies for applications, not the federal agency. 127 pass-through grants on file. Largest shown:
| Past winner | Where | Through | Amount | Fiscal year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our Daily Bread of Tennessee, Inc. | Knoxville, Knox County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $12.5M spent that year | 2025 |
| Karamu Nutrition Program Inc | Memphis, Shelby County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $8.5M spent that year | 2025 |
| YMCA of Memphis & the Mid-South | Cordova, Shelby County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $6.8M spent that year | 2025 |
| Our Daily Bread of Tennessee, Inc. | Knoxville, Knox County | Kentucky Department of Education | $5.7M spent that year | 2025 |
| Shelby County Board of Education | Memphis, Shelby County | State of Tennessee | $2.7M spent that year | 2025 |
| The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee | Nashville, Davidson County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $2.7M spent that year | 2025 |
| Southeast Tennessee Human Resource Agency | Dunlap, Sequatchie County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $2.6M spent that year | 2025 |
| Giving Youth a Chance Initiative | Memphis, Shelby County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $2.6M spent that year | 2024 |
| Southeast Tennessee Human Resource Agency | Dunlap, Sequatchie County | State of Tennessee | $2.5M spent that year | 2024 |
| East Tennessee Human Resource Agency | Knoxville, Knox County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $1.9M spent that year | 2025 |
| Alpha & Omega Nutrition Program, Incorporated | Memphis, Shelby County | Tennessee Department of Human Services | $1.5M spent that year | 2025 |
| Alpha & Omega Nutrition Program Incorporated | Memphis, Shelby County | Alpha & Omega Nutrition Program, Inc | $1.5M spent that year | 2023 |
Source: USAspending.gov pass-through reports (the first recipient reports each one of $30,000 or more).
Similar grants open or opening soon
From other funders, about the same kind of work.
- Rigorously Evaluating Approaches to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Problematic Sexual Behavior among Youth · Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA · Due about Dec 1, 2026 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder
- Barbara Bush Fund for Family Literacy grants (2027 cycle) · George & Barbara Bush Foundation (Barbara Bush Fund for Family Literacy) · Opening date not announced
- Community Impact Fund (Spring 2027 cycle) · Vanderbilt University (Community Relations) · Opens Dec 14, 2026 · due Jan 31, 2027
More from Tennessee Department of Human Services
- Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) sponsor reimbursement · Next round: about Jan 30 – May 1, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder
About the federal program
Child and Adult Care Food Program
Program number 10.558 (the federal Assistance Listing number) · U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service · Formula grant (amounts set by a formula)