← Back to search

Volunteer Tennessee (Governor's Commission on Volunteerism & Service)

Volunteer Generation Fund (VGF) Partner Grants

Closed for this year

Key facts

Deadline
Next round: due about Apr 22, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder ?
Award size
Not stated: see the official notice
Match ?
Not stated: check the official notice · Work out your budget and match
Who can apply
Set by the official notice: read it on the funder's page
Where
Anywhere in Tennessee

Closed for this year

Last round: due around Apr 22, 2026, as the funder posted it.

Next round: about Apr 22, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder. The funder hasn't announced it. GrantMe estimated it from last year's dates.

Use the time now: get ready, read last year's guidelines on the funder's page, and save this grant to put the dates in your calendar.

Before you apply: Tennessee state agencies usually require you to be registered as a supplier in the state's Edison system before they can pay a grant. Ask the program contact, and register early. Get-ready checklist

How this fits you

  • Available in Tipton County
  • Past Tennessee awards of the federal program behind it (all its uses): 16

Tell us who you are to see whether you're eligible.

About this grant

Federal AmeriCorps Volunteer Generation Fund grants passed through Volunteer Tennessee to help community organizations recruit, manage and keep volunteers.

Add deadline to my calendar

Ask a partner for a letter

Writing the need statement? Tipton County facts with citations.

What the official notice requires

Pulled from the official notice 1_2026_VGF_Partner_App_Instructions.pdf (11 pages) so you can see the requirements at a glance. Each item shows the notice's own words. Open the page to read it in context.

Length limits

  • Program Narrative: 5 pages max · p. 4
    “Program Narrative (Maximum 5 pages – single spaced.” Open page 4

Formatting rules

  • single-spaced · p. 4
    “Program Narrative (Maximum 5 pages – single spaced.” Open page 4

Cost share or match

  • Cost share / match · p. 3
    “A 50% non-federal match (cash or in-kind) of the total program cost is required.” Open page 3
  • Cost share / match · p. 6
    “For example, an applicant requesting $35,000 in federal funds through this application must document at least $35,000 in matching funds, which is 50% of the program total cost of $70,000.” Open page 6
  • Cost share / match · p. 8
    “GRANT BUDGETS MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN AND REFLECT A 50% NON-FEDERAL MATCH.” Open page 8

Dates in the notice

  • April 22, 2026 · p. 2
    “Applications Due Wednesday, April 22, 2026 @ 3:00 p.m.” Open page 2
  • April 20, 2026 · p. 4
    “Due Monday, April 20, 2026 (Required to receive SharePoint access for document upload)” Open page 4

Who in Tennessee has won the federal program behind it

This grant is paid from federal program 94.021, which also pays for other work. These groups won that program, not necessarily this grant.

3 awards to Tennessee groups in 1 county since 2023 · 0 in Tipton County. Largest shown:

Past Tennessee winners
Past winnerWhereAmountFiscal year
Volunteer TennesseeNashville, Davidson County$1.2M2023
Volunteer TennesseeNashville, Davidson County$500K2027
State of TennesseeNashville$154K spent that year2025

Source: USAspending.gov; Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Past awards show who this program funds. They don't guarantee future awards.

Tennessee groups that got this money through a state agency or another organization

This federal money also reaches local groups as pass-through grants. 13 pass-through grants on file · 0 in Tipton County. Largest shown:

Tennessee pass-through grant winners
Past winnerWhereThroughAmountFiscal year
United Way of Middle Tennessee, IncNashville, Davidson CountyState of Tennessee Volunteer Tennessee$374K spent that year2025
United Way of Middle Tennessee, IncNashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$223K2025
Hands on Nashville, Inc.Nashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$181K2023
United Way of Middle Tennessee, IncNashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$181K2024
United Way of Middle Tennessee, IncNashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$106K2025
Oasis Center, IncNashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$100K2025
United Way of Greater ChattanoogaChattanooga, Hamilton CountyVolunteer Tennessee$96K2025
Leadership MemphisMemphis, Shelby CountyVolunteer Tennessee$80K2024
Leadership MemphisMemphis, Shelby CountyVolunteer Tennessee$80K2023
East Tennessee State UniversityJohnson City, Washington CountyVolunteer Tennessee$66K2025
United Way of Middle Tennessee, IncNashville, Davidson CountyVolunteer Tennessee$61K2025
United Way of West Tennessee, Inc.JacksonVolunteer Tennessee$26K2025

Source: USAspending.gov pass-through reports (the first recipient reports each one of $30,000 or more).

More from Volunteer Tennessee (Governor's Commission on Volunteerism & Service)

About the federal program

AmeriCorps Volunteer Generation Fund 94.021, also called “Volunteer Generation Fund 94.021”
Program number 94.021 (the federal Assistance Listing number) · Corporation for National and Community Service · Project grant

How applications are judged

Proposal selection criteria are described in the program's Notice of Federal Funding.

Match

Statutory Formula: Title Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act, Part Sec. 1808 Clearinghouses, Subpart Sec. 198P Volunteer Generation Fund,Public Law 111-13.Edward M. Kennedy Serve America ActSee program�s Notice of Federal Funding.

This program on SAM.gov

Something wrong on this page? Tell us
What's wrong?