City of Johnson City Office of Community Development
Community Development Block Grant Subrecipient Application
Key facts
- Deadline
- Rolling: apply any time
- Award size
- Not stated: see the official notice
- Match ?
- Not stated: check the official notice · Work out your budget and match
- How you get paid ?
- By reimbursement: you spend your own money first and get paid back later, often months later. Make sure you can cover the costs until then.
- Who can apply
- Nonprofit with 501(c)(3)
- Where
- Carter County, Sullivan County, Washington County
How this fits you
- Only for Carter County, Sullivan County, Washington County
- Past Tennessee awards on file: 196 — including your county
Tell us who you are to see whether you're eligible.
About this grant
Montgomery County: Who gets CDBG money here
Montgomery County: only Clarksville gets CDBG money directly from HUD. Groups there apply through the city. The rest of Montgomery County (the county government and its other towns) applies to TNECD's state CDBG program. TNECD's CDBG program
Fiscal year 2024 CDBG from HUD: Clarksville $1.1M.
Source: HUD, Community Development Block Grant Grantee Areas, data updated Feb 25, 2025. The counties each city reaches come from the Census 2020 place file.
30 of 113 Census block groups (neighborhood-sized areas) in Montgomery County are at least 51% low- and moderate-income. A CDBG project that serves an area usually needs that area to be at least 51% low/mod, so it depends on your exact service area, not the county. Check your area on HUD's CPD Maps.
Source: HUD, Low to Moderate Income Population by Block Group (2016–2020 American Community Survey), data updated Apr 24, 2025.
Official notice: https://www.johnsoncitytn.org/business/community_development/index.php · Printed from grantme.click/grants/c5d8d278-0b05-473f-b627-e1e98c3cc999
Writing the need statement? Montgomery County facts with citations.
Who in Tennessee has won this program
95 awards to Tennessee groups in 14 counties since 2019 · 10 in Montgomery County. Largest shown:
| Past winner | Where | Amount | Fiscal year |
|---|---|---|---|
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $9.2M | 2021 |
| City of Memphis | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.9M spent that year | 2025 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.9M | 2021 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.8M | 2020 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.6M | 2019 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.6M | |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.4M | 2023 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.4M | 2022 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6.1M | 2024 |
| City of Memphis, Tennessee | Memphis, Shelby County | $6M | 2025 |
| City of Chattanooga | Chattanooga, Hamilton County | $3.7M spent that year | 2025 |
| City of Knoxville | Knoxville, Knox County | $2.9M | 2020 |
Source: USAspending.gov; Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Past awards show who this program funds. They don't guarantee future awards.
Tennessee groups that got this money through a state agency or another organization
This federal money also reaches local groups as pass-through grants. In Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development and Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation and Tennessee Department of Transportation pass it on: watch those agencies for applications, not the federal agency. 101 pass-through grants on file · 4 in Montgomery County. Largest shown:
| Past winner | Where | Through | Amount | Fiscal year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metropolitan Development & Housing Agency | Nashville, Davidson County | Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davison County, Tennessee | $14.7M spent that year | 2023 |
| The Hospitality Hub of Memphis | Memphis, Shelby County | City of Memphis, TN | $1.5M spent that year | 2023 |
| Chattanooga Housing Authority | Chattanooga, Hamilton County | City of Chattanooga | $1.2M spent that year | 2025 |
| City of Millington | Millington, Shelby County | Shelby County, Tennessee | $1M spent that year | 2023 |
| Room in the Inn, Inc. | Nashville, Davidson County | Metropolitan Development and Housing Agency | $843K spent that year | 2024 |
| City of Bartlett, Tennessee | Bartlett, Shelby County | Shelby County | $593K spent that year | 2025 |
| Centerstone of America, Inc. | Nashville, Davidson County | Lee County | $581K spent that year | 2023 |
| Knoxville-Knox County Community Action Committee | Knoxville, Knox County | City of Knoxville, Tennessee | $536K spent that year | 2024 |
| Knoxville Leadership Foundation, Inc. | Knoxville, Knox County | City of Knoxville | $523K spent that year | 2024 |
| The Crossroads Campus | Nashville, Davidson County | Metropolitan Development and Housing Agency | $512K spent that year | 2023 |
| Helen Ross Mcnabb Center, Inc | Knoxville, Knox County | Department of Economic and Community Development Through Knox County, Tennessee | $497K spent that year | 2025 |
| Habitat for Humanity of Greater Memphis | Memphis, Shelby County | City of Memphis, TN | $488K spent that year | 2025 |
Source: USAspending.gov pass-through reports (the first recipient reports each one of $30,000 or more).
About the federal program
Community Development Block Grants/Entitlement Grants, also called “Community Development Block Grant Program for Entitlement Communities.”
Program number 14.218 (the federal Assistance Listing number) · U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development · Formula grant (amounts set by a formula)