← Back to search

TN Department of Human Services

Families First Community Grant Program 2026-27

Closed for this year

Key facts

Deadline
Next round: about May 28 – Jul 13, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder ?
Award size
Not stated: see the official notice
Match ?
Not stated: check the official notice · Work out your budget and match
Who can apply
Nonprofit with 501(c)(3)
Where
Anywhere in Tennessee

Closed for this year

Last round: May 28 – Jul 13, 2026, as the funder posted it.

Next round: about May 28 – Jul 13, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder. The funder hasn't announced it. GrantMe estimated it from last year's dates.

Use the time now: get ready, read last year's guidelines on the funder's page, and save this grant to put the dates in your calendar.

Before you apply: Tennessee state agencies usually require you to be registered as a supplier in the state's Edison system before they can pay a grant. Ask the program contact, and register early. Get-ready checklist

How this fits you

  • Available in Tennessee
  • Past Tennessee awards of the federal program behind it (all its uses): 280

Tell us who you are to see whether you're eligible.

About this grant

TANF-funded grants for community nonprofits that give low-income families direct services in education, health, economic stability, and family relationships, about $4 million in total.

Add deadline to my calendar

Ask a partner for a letter

Who in Tennessee has won the federal program behind it

This grant is paid from federal program 93.558, which also pays for other work. These groups won that program, not necessarily this grant.

5 awards to Tennessee groups in 4 counties since 2023. Largest shown:

Past Tennessee winners
Past winnerWhereAmountFiscal year
State of TennesseeNashville$265.8M spent that year2025
Signal Centers, Inc.Chattanooga, Hamilton County$1.3M spent that year2025
Workforce InnovationsDyersburg, Dyer County$854K spent that year2025
Jmc Gen Hosp Dist Dba West Tennessee Healthcare and Related AffiliatesJackson, Madison County$357K spent that year2024
Upper Cumberland Development DistrictCookeville, Putnam County$272K spent that year2024

Source: Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Past awards show who this program funds. They don't guarantee future awards.

Tennessee groups that got this money through a state agency or another organization

This federal money also reaches local groups as pass-through grants. In Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Education and Tennessee Department of Human Services and Tennessee Department of Health pass it on: watch those agencies for applications, not the federal agency. 275 pass-through grants on file. Largest shown:

Tennessee pass-through grant winners
Past winnerWhereThroughAmountFiscal year
First Tennessee Development District Foundation IncJohnson CityTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
Families Matter IncMemphis, Shelby CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
Family & Children's Svc.Nashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
Martha O'bryan Center, Inc.Nashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency, Inc.Cookeville, Putnam CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
United Way of Greater KnoxvilleKnoxville, Knox CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$25M2023
Family and Children's ServiceNashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$9.6M spent that year2025
United Way of the Mid-SouthMemphis, Shelby CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$9.4M spent that year2025
United Way of the Mid-SouthMemphis, Shelby CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$9.1M2023
United Way of Middle Tennessee, Inc.Nashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Health$8.5M spent that year2023
Tennessee Alliance for Legal ServicesNashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$8.4M spent that year2025
Tennessee Alliance for Legal ServicesNashville, Davidson CountyTennessee Department of Human Services$8.3M2023

Source: USAspending.gov pass-through reports (the first recipient reports each one of $30,000 or more).

Similar grants open or opening soon

From other funders, about the same kind of work.

About the federal program

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, also called “TANF”
Program number 93.558 (the federal Assistance Listing number) · U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families · Formula grant (amounts set by a formula), technical information

Match

Match: none required (federal program listing). Statutory Formula: Title IV, Part A, Subpart 403,Public Law 104-193.Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 603 This program has MOE requirements, see funding agency for further details. In order to receive their full federal block grant, states must meet a maintenance-of-effort (MOE) requirement, which means they must expend state funds on �eligible families� for benefits and services related to TANF purposes in an amount equal to at least 80 percent of state spending in FY 1994 for AFDC programs related to cash assistance, emergency assistance, job training, and child care (about $11.1 billion). This amount is reduced to 75 percent (about $10.4 billion) if a state meets its work participation rates.

This program on SAM.gov

Something wrong on this page? Tell us
What's wrong?