← Back to search

City of Clarksville Neighborhood & Community Services

HUD Public Service Grants (CDBG / ESG Public Services funding)

Closed for this year

Key facts

Deadline
Next round: due about Feb 9, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder ?
Award size
Not stated: see the official notice
Match ?
Not stated: check the official notice · Work out your budget and match
Who can apply
Nonprofit with 501(c)(3)
Where
Montgomery County

Closed for this year

Last round: due around Feb 9, 2026, as the funder posted it.

Next round: about Feb 9, 2027 Estimate, not confirmed by the funder. The funder hasn't announced it. GrantMe estimated it from last year's dates.

Use the time now: get ready, read last year's guidelines on the funder's page, and save this grant to put the dates in your calendar.

How this fits you

  • Available in Montgomery County
  • Past Tennessee awards on file: 196 — including your county

Tell us who you are to see whether you're eligible.

Montgomery County: Who gets CDBG money here

Montgomery County: only Clarksville gets CDBG money directly from HUD. Groups there apply through the city. The rest of Montgomery County (the county government and its other towns) applies to TNECD's state CDBG program. TNECD's CDBG program

Fiscal year 2024 CDBG from HUD: Clarksville $1.1M.

Source: HUD, Community Development Block Grant Grantee Areas, data updated Feb 25, 2025. The counties each city reaches come from the Census 2020 place file.

30 of 113 Census block groups (neighborhood-sized areas) in Montgomery County are at least 51% low- and moderate-income. A CDBG project that serves an area usually needs that area to be at least 51% low/mod, so it depends on your exact service area, not the county. Check your area on HUD's CPD Maps.

Source: HUD, Low to Moderate Income Population by Block Group (2016–2020 American Community Survey), data updated Apr 24, 2025.

Go to the application Add deadline to my calendar

More from City of Clarksville Neighborhood & Community Services

About this grant

Clarksville passes part of its federal CDBG and ESG money to nonprofits that serve low- and moderate-income city residents. The 2026 proposal deadline was February 9, 2026. The next deadline has not been posted.

Ask a partner for a letter

Writing the need statement? Montgomery County facts with citations.

Who in Tennessee has won this program

95 awards to Tennessee groups in 14 counties since 2019 · 10 in Montgomery County. Largest shown:

Past Tennessee winners
Past winnerWhereAmountFiscal year
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$9.2M2021
City of MemphisMemphis, Shelby County$6.9M spent that year2025
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.9M2021
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.8M2020
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.6M2019
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.6M
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.4M2023
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.4M2022
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6.1M2024
City of Memphis, TennesseeMemphis, Shelby County$6M2025
City of ChattanoogaChattanooga, Hamilton County$3.7M spent that year2025
City of KnoxvilleKnoxville, Knox County$2.9M2020

Source: USAspending.gov; Federal Audit Clearinghouse. Past awards show who this program funds. They don't guarantee future awards.

Tennessee groups that got this money through a state agency or another organization

This federal money also reaches local groups as pass-through grants. In Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development and Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation and Tennessee Department of Transportation pass it on: watch those agencies for applications, not the federal agency. 101 pass-through grants on file · 4 in Montgomery County. Largest shown:

Tennessee pass-through grant winners
Past winnerWhereThroughAmountFiscal year
Metropolitan Development & Housing AgencyNashville, Davidson CountyMetropolitan Government of Nashville and Davison County, Tennessee$14.7M spent that year2023
The Hospitality Hub of MemphisMemphis, Shelby CountyCity of Memphis, TN$1.5M spent that year2023
Chattanooga Housing AuthorityChattanooga, Hamilton CountyCity of Chattanooga$1.2M spent that year2025
City of MillingtonMillington, Shelby CountyShelby County, Tennessee$1M spent that year2023
Room in the Inn, Inc.Nashville, Davidson CountyMetropolitan Development and Housing Agency$843K spent that year2024
City of Bartlett, TennesseeBartlett, Shelby CountyShelby County$593K spent that year2025
Centerstone of America, Inc.Nashville, Davidson CountyLee County$581K spent that year2023
Knoxville-Knox County Community Action CommitteeKnoxville, Knox CountyCity of Knoxville, Tennessee$536K spent that year2024
Knoxville Leadership Foundation, Inc.Knoxville, Knox CountyCity of Knoxville$523K spent that year2024
The Crossroads CampusNashville, Davidson CountyMetropolitan Development and Housing Agency$512K spent that year2023
Helen Ross Mcnabb Center, IncKnoxville, Knox CountyDepartment of Economic and Community Development Through Knox County, Tennessee$497K spent that year2025
Habitat for Humanity of Greater MemphisMemphis, Shelby CountyCity of Memphis, TN$488K spent that year2025

Source: USAspending.gov pass-through reports (the first recipient reports each one of $30,000 or more).

About the federal program

Community Development Block Grants/Entitlement Grants, also called “Community Development Block Grant Program for Entitlement Communities.”
Program number 14.218 (the federal Assistance Listing number) · U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development · Formula grant (amounts set by a formula)

Match

Match: none required (federal program listing). Statutory Formula: Title 24, Part 570, Subpart A,Public Law 93-383.Entitlement grant amounts are determined by formula

This program on SAM.gov

Something wrong on this page? Tell us
What's wrong?